Whitley Awards 2020 Now Open!

Post date: 
29 Jul 2019 - 10:15
Other News

Whitley Awards 2020 is now open!  The deadline for applications is midnight GMT 31st October 2019.  The Awards seek to support grassroots leaders in resource-poor, biodiversity-rich countries working to conserve wildlife and their habitats with the help of local communities. Awards are worth £40,000 over one year and come with professional media training, PR and a profile boost.

The Whitley Awards:

  • are the result of a global competition for effective conservation leadership
  • are worth £40,000 GBP in project funding over one year
  • champion local leaders working in developing nations that are rich in biodiversity
  • celebrate passionate people and effective communicators – individuals who inspire and are backed by a committed team and local NGO
  • provide a significant boost to winners’ international profile by putting a spotlight on their work
  • support winners with communications training and PR assistance
  • enable winners to join a network of Whitley Award alumni, with opportunities for collaboration and to apply for WFN Continuation Funding


We look for:

  • projects that explicitly address biodiversity conservation issues
  • value for money and likelihood of future sustainability
  • potential for replication to deliver large scale change
  • community involvement and grassroots approach
  • scientific founding – the leader need not be a scientist but needs to demonstrate the team have the required skills and experience or collaborations in place
  • proven success and evidence-based approach
  • measurable impact not just activity – we support projects that can demonstrate real change
  • marine, freshwater and terrestrial projects



  • WFN does not fund undergraduate projects, expeditions, MSc, PhDs or governmental work.
  • WFN works to build the capacity of less developed nations to conduct conservation. To be eligible to apply, the project must take place in a country that is not defined as a High-Income Economy by the World Bank (with some exceptions).
  • The Awards are aimed at nationals of the countries or regions where projects are focussed.
  • We seek grassroots conservationists from locally incorporated NGOs in developing countries, rather than in-country staff employed by NGOs headquartered in developed countries.


Having reviewed gaps in our geographical spread, we are keen to encourage applications from inspiring local conservation leaders in: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Chad, Central African Republic, Egypt, Guyana, Honduras, Kyrgyzstan, Lao PDR, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Nicaragua, Niger, Panama, Senegal, Sudan, and Suriname. However, I wish to emphasise that applications from all eligible countries are welcomed and proposals are judged on quality rather than country spread. 


For more information, please ask potential applicants to visit www.whitleyaward.org or contact us at info@whitleyaward.org.  For further details, please see the attached document.